Appreciation and Thank You, Lack Thereof


Denis Collette…!!! / Love Photos / CC BY-NC-ND

“A thankful heart is not only the greatest virtue, but the parent of all other virtues.” – Cicero

Have you ever done a rather large and important favor for someone and you never even got a thank you?

Recently that has happened to me. I really enjoy doing things for people and I don’t expect anything in return. Well I take that back, I do expect one thing, a thank you. Two small words that make a huge impact but those two words were never spoken.

I am hurt and angry. This favor turned my household upside down and getting no appreciation for what I have done makes me not want to do any favors for that person again.

I have been waiting patiently for a thank you but few days have passed. No quick text, no quick phone call, not even a quick visit to our house. Takes just a few minutes to show appreciation. Is it really that difficult???

2 thoughts on “Appreciation and Thank You, Lack Thereof

  1. This happens to me as well. The greatest insult however came from 4 Mothers with their (ungrateful) children, at a park one day… We had let these children play ALL DAY with my childs toys. We purposely bring tons of tous(never again) so NO kids r left out–thats just me. Anyway, after a full day of play, we on our side, them on theirs of the park; the MOMS sitting around gossiping .. Gathered our toys from them to leave. Walked away realized: 1 mom brought a toy over BROKEN; NO SORRY; NO THANK YOU..??? Whats wrong with ppl. .. THANK YOU for sharing your stories with Us xox Jeanine H!!

    • So many people out there have no respect! I don’t think I will ever be able to understand it.
      Absolutely ridiculous that those moms couldn’t even express their gratefulness for you bringing extra toys for their kids to play with.
      Thanks for sharing your story, too bad you had to experience it though.

Leave a Reply

