Remembering Mitch Hedberg


cudmore / Foter.com / CC BY-SA

I am drawn to unique comedians that don’t completely play by the rules. I like uniqueness, original ideas that make them stand out from the rest.
About 15 years ago or maybe 13/14 ( years don’t really matter though ) I was introduced to the musings of this man on CD. What drew me to Mitch Hedberg is his voice and his laughter that was contagious. He was and is my favorite comedian due to those two reasons and of course his uniqueness. His main focus was his views of sometimes boring mundane things in life such as waffles or tennis.
He was taken from this planet far too soon, it’s unfortunate how such a talented man died after only being here 37 years. I really do believe he is one of the best that has come out of Minnesota, St. Paul to be exact. He is right up there with Bob Dylan ( born in Duluth, grew up in Hibbing ) and Judy Garland ( born in Grand Rapids, MN ).
As with several of my favorite artists Mitch died of a drug overdose. Maybe fame got to him like many other celebrities. I am sure his congenital heart and heart palpitations issues didn’t help the situation.
Even though he has been gone for 8 years he is still remembered in my mind.
“I like to play blackjack. I’m not addicted to gambling. I’m addicted to sitting in a semi-circle.” – Mitch Hedberg

J Clark / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-SA

“Every book is a children’s book if the kid can read!” – Mitch Hedberg

photognome / Christmas Photos / CC BY-NC-ND

“Koala bears, cutest infestation ever…..” -Mitch Hedberg

“The depressing thing about tennis is that no matter how good I get, I’ll never be as good as a wall.” – Mitch Hedberg

“I’m sick of following my dreams. I’m just going to ask them where they’re going and hook up with them later.” – Mitch Hedberg

Photo credit: cudmore / Foter.com / CC BY-SA His Face

Photo credit: J Clark / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-SA Escalator

Photo credit: photognome / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-ND Koala Bear

Leave a Reply

