Taking Advantage of My Green Thumb


I started seeds in a small peat/soil filled disc that expanded when water was added. Then I transferred them to these little peat pots.

I started seeds in a small peat/soil filled disc that expanded when water was added. Then I transferred them to these little peat pots.

Ever since I could remember I have been exposed to gardening and surrounded by houseplants. Thanks to my wonderful parents I picked up the hobby when I moved into my own place at the young age of 18. I would buy houseplants as often as I could, I would split them to have more plants throughout the house, and I knew the right time when they needed to be repotted. I got so obsessed with my new-found hobby that I even dusted the leaves on every plant at least once a week ( well it is a good idea to that because more light can get to the leaf without dust ) and I would give them daily spraying of water. My plants thrived and grew fast. But I do remember that I could never keep ivy healthy no matter what I did. They would always succumb to mites, those little white bugs that attack some houseplants. But I loved ivy so I kept trying for a long time. I did eventually give up but i do want to try again, it has been about 10 years since I have tried growing an ivy. Since we bought our first house last year, 2012, we have been wanting a garden. Produce has gotten so expensive that we decided the best thing to do is grow our own vegetables. I have gardened many years ago so I am not a newbie but there is still much to learn. I have searched online for frost dates, when to start seeds indoors, when to transplant outside and the best way to transplant into the ground so plants don’t die.

Just as I did with the onion I did with peas. But instead of putting the seedlings into peat pots I put them into regular plant pots.

Just as I did with the onion I did with peas. But instead of putting the seedlings into peat pots I put them into regular plant pots.

I started peas, sweet peppers, chives and green onion indoors about a month ago. Reasons for starting peas so early is because they prefer cooler weather so they will be first to be acclimated to outside temps. Sweet peppers can take up to 21 days to germinate so I planted those seeds early. The chives (and other herbs) can be grown indoors and the onion can be planted inside early in the season. I really wanted a head start on growing due to our short harvest season. So far they are doing wonderful, I am actually quite proud of it.

These are the sweet peppers that actually just sprouted about a week ago. And they are still growing in the little peat/soil things I mentioned in the previous two images.

These are the sweet peppers that actually just sprouted about a week ago. And they are still growing in the little peat/soil things I mentioned in the previous two images.

In about a week I will be starting carrots, tomato, green beans and cucumbers. I also have some herb seeds to plant but those can be grown indoors throughout the whole year so I am not in a huge hurry with those. At some point I would like to plant raspberries and strawberries however that may happen next year. I am also going to grow edible flowers. Of course I have done research on what we can and cannot eat due to not wanting to poison my family, click here for list . Only flowers I have eaten in the past are roses, dandelions, lilacs and pansies. Whatever we plant we want to be able to eat. In about a month there is going to be a lot of work to do to get garden going. We have to dig up the plot ( actually hubby, and others will be ), test the soil, add nutrients if needed, and do some major planting ( I did plant a lot of seeds but sometimes some of the seeds don’t germinate). Then build a tripod for the pole green beans, trellis for the peas and cages for the tomatoes. All the work will be worth it, I hope.

Leave a Reply

